HCHS has two actors selected as best in NYC for the Roger Rees Awards

Congratulations to senior Sam A. and Kamila K.who are among the 87 NYC high school students who will participate in the 10th annual Roger Rees Awards for Excellence in Student Performance, scheduled to be streamed June 1 at 7:30 PM ET on BEA's YouTube channel.

Break a leg in the competition and we'll be rooting for you! 
NYC-area high schools were invited to nominate two student performers from each officially licensed school musical production to submit a video audition. Those auditions were adjudicated by a team of industry professionals, including Kristine Bendul, Tina Marie Casamento, Andy Einhorn, and David Libby. Judges selected 25 men and 25 women from the 87 nominees to compete as finalists for the Best Actor and Best Actress awards, and a second adjudicating panel (comprising Sean McKnight, Cynthia Thole, Isaac Harlan, and Christine Riley) will select 12 finalists from this group, which will be announced during the ceremony. All 87 student nominees will perform during the stream.

The Roger Rees Awards (RRA) is the New York metro area student award program that recognizes distinction in student performance and outstanding achievement in high school musical theatre.